• Safion GmbH

    Ensuring consistent cell quality with ExaMight Customer Case: Air Energy

OUR CUSTOMER

A HIGHLY SPECIALIZED BATTERY MANUFACTURE

For almost 30 years, Air Energy has been developing battery systems and components for national and international customers. The company's focus here is on individual solutions for automotive and aviation systems that involve special performance requirements.

Air Energy's customers expect the highest battery quality from all cells installed to meet the ever-changing challenges of diverse applications. With Safion's solution, Air Energy performs precise incoming inspections of its cells with little effort and in seconds via a central, easy-to-use system, thus having maximum transparency over its cell deliveries.

Background

EARLY DETECTION OF QUALITY DEVIATIONS IN SPECIAL APPLICATIONS

As a specialist for prototypes and small series and in contrast to large corporations with permanent supplier relationships, Air Energy project-specifically purchases cells from numerous different suppliers and manufacturers.

This can result in significant differences in performance, service life and safety of the individual cells, which are not reflected in any data sheets and are also not identified by the manufacturers.

In order to produce battery systems that meet requirements and orders and to avoid warranty risks, the management of Air Energy was looking for a solution to ensure constant performance, service life and safety of their battery systems.

OUR SOLUTION

ALL-IN-ONE SYSTEM FOR SIMPLE AND FAST CELL EVALUATION

Due to increasing cell volumes, Air Energy needed a compact, stand-alone, all-in-one solution for incoming inspection that could be put into operation quickly and required little training time. The aim was to be able to quickly check the quality of the cells delivered and to sort out cells of inferior quality.

After evaluating existing systems, Air Energy selected Safion's solution, which provides accurate cell evaluation in seconds while offering low integration effort and ease of use.

The ExaMight modular quality assurance system is implemented at Air Energy via a simple desktop setup. Cell contacting, measurement and evaluation are carried out centrally and automatically by the worker via intuitive software in which all processes are logged. All he has to do is insert a battery cell, start the measurement and receive an accurate quality assessment one second later. The software also compares the measurement result with the actual requirements of the battery system and then recommends a course of action for using the evaluated cell.

Customer Benefits

ASSURED CELL QUALITY FOR PROTOTYPES AND SMALL BATCHES

With the ExaMight desktop setup, Air Energy has a compact overall solution to ensure the quality of its batteries. Fast and precise cell evaluation at the push of a button allows the company to check its incoming cells with little effort and sort out inferior or unsuitable cells at an early stage.

Air Energy thus offers its customers high-performance, safe and durable battery systems that meet more demanding requirements while opening up new application possibilities.

The documented measurement results also help Air Energy to optimize its supplier management with regard to the best cell quality. This leads to significant cost savings and minimizes the risk of warranty claims and liability risks due to defective battery systems.

What's behind it

The product

info@safion.de

• Safion GmbH

    Sicherstellung von konstanter Zellqualität mit ExaMight Customer Case: Air Energy

UNSER KUNDE

EINE HOCHSPEZIALISIERTE BATTERIE-MANUFAKTUR

Seit fast 30 Jahren entwickelt Air Energy Batteriesysteme und -komponenten für nationale und internationale Kunden. Der Fokus des Unternehmens liegt hierbei auf individuellen Lösungen für Fahr- und Flugsystemen, die besondere Leistungsanforderungen mit sich bringen.

Die Kunden von Air Energy erwarten höchste Batteriequalität aller verbauten Zellen, um den immer wieder neuen Herausforderungen diverser Anwendungsgebiete gerecht zu werden. Mit Safions Lösung führt Air Energy präzise Wareneingangskontrollen seiner Zellen mit geringem Aufwand und in Sekundenschnelle über ein zentrales, leicht bedienbares System durch und besitzt somit maximale Transparenz über seine Zelllieferungen.

Hintergrund

FRÜHZEITIGE ERKENNUNG VON QUALITÄTSABWEICHUNGEN IN SPEZIALANWENDUNGEN

Als Spezialist für Prototypen und Kleinserien und im Gegensatz zu großen Konzernen mit dauerhaften Lieferantenbeziehungen bezieht Air Energy projektspezifisch Zellen von zahlreichen unterschiedliche Lieferanten und Herstellern.

Hierbei können sich deutliche Leistungs-, Lebensdauer- und Sicherheitsunterschiede der einzelnen Zellen ergeben, die sich in keinen Datenblättern wiederfinden und auch von den Herstellern nicht kenntlich gemacht werden.

Um anforderungs- und auftragsgerechte Batteriesysteme zu fertigen und Gewährleistungsrisiken zu vermeiden, suchte die Geschäftsführung von Air Energy eine Lösung zur Sicherstellung konstanter Leistung, Lebensdauer und Sicherheit ihrer Batteriesysteme.

UNSER LÖSUNGSANSATZ

GESAMTSYSTEM FÜR EINFACHE UND SCHNELLE ZELLBEWERTUNG

Aufgrund von steigenden Zellvolumina benötigte Air Energy eine kompakte, eigenständige Komplettlösung für die Wareneingangskontrolle, die schnell in Betrieb zu nehmen ist und eine geringe Einarbeitungszeit erfordert. Ziel war es, angelieferte Zellen schnell hinsichtlich ihrer Qualität prüfen und minderwertige Zellen aussortieren zu können.

Nach einer Evaluierung der bestehenden Systeme entschied sich Air Energy für die Lösung von Safion, die in Sekundenschnelle eine präzise Zellbewertung ermöglicht und sich gleichzeitig durch einen geringen Integrationsaufwand sowie eine einfache Bedienung auszeichnet.

Das modulare Qualitätssicherungssystem ExaMight wird bei Air Energy über einen einfachen Tischaufbau implementiert. Zellkontaktierung, -messung und -bewertung führt der Werker zentral und automatisch über eine intuitive Software durch, in der alle Prozesse protokolliert werden. Er muss lediglich eine Batteriezelle einlegen, die Messung starten und erhält eine Sekunde später eine genaue Qualitätsbewertung. Die Software gleicht das Messergebnis zudem mit den tatsächlichen Anforderungen des Batteriesystems ab und gibt daraufhin eine Handlungsempfehlung für die Verwendung der bewerteten Zelle.

Vorteile für den Kunden

GESICHERTE ZELLQUALITÄT FÜR PROTOTYPEN UND KLEINSERIEN

Mit dem ExaMight-Tischaufbau verfügt Air Energy über eine kompakte Gesamtlösung, um die Qualität seiner Batterien sicherzustellen. Durch die schnelle und präzise Zellbewertung auf Knopfdruck kann das Unternehmen mit geringem Aufwand seinen Wareneingang prüfen und minderwertige oder unpassende Zellen frühzeitig aussortieren.

Seinen Kunden bietet Air Energy damit leistungsfähige, sichere und langlebige Batteriesysteme, die anspruchsvollere Anforderungen erfüllen und gleichzeitig neue Anwendungsmöglichkeiten eröffnen.

Die dokumentierten Messergebnisse helfen Air Energy zudem dabei, sein Lieferantenmanagement hinsichtlich der besten Zellqualität zu optimieren. Dies führt zu erheblichen Kostenersparnissen und minimiert die Gefahr von Garantiefällen und Haftungsrisiken durch mangelhafte Batteriesysteme.

Das steckt dahinter

Das Produkt

info@safion.de